Shamar Rinpoche

Boundless activity

Crown-Jewel-of-The-Kagyu-LineageDiscover Online:  
Life of The Fourteenth Kunzig Shamarpa ♦
Crown Jewel of The Kagyu Lineage 

Authored by Khenpo Chodrag Tenphel Rinpoche

 

His Holiness Mipham Chökyi Lodrö (1952-2014) was born in Derge, East Tibet. At the age of four he was recognized by the 16th Karmapa, Rangjung Rigpe Dorje, as the 14th Shamarpa reincarnation or Red Hat Lama of Tibet. He received the entire cycle of Kagyu teachings from the 16th Karmapa.

The Shamarpa lineage is the second-oldest reincarnate lineage in Tibetan Buddhism, dating to the thirteenth century. Shamar Rinpoche spent many years studying in India with Buddhist scholars. He began to travel and teach in various Buddhist centers throughout Asia and the West starting in 1980, and in 1982 went to U.C. Berkeley to study English.

 

Légende

Shamar Rinpoche and the President of India, Sri Ramaswamy Venkataraman, during the KIBI inauguration in 1991.

Shamar Rimpoche has devoted his efforts to the many projects initiated by the late 16th Karmapa.

He has completed the reprinting of the “Tengyur” a body of 214 volumes in which prominent Indian and Tibetan masters elucidate the teachings given by the historical Buddha Shakyamuni. He has also supported and offered guidance to Rumtek Monastery, the seat of H. H. the 16th Karmapa.

He co-founded and brought into being the Karmapa Buddhist International Institute (KIBI), New Delhi, India. In partnership with Mewar University, the Institute currently offers a bachelor degree in Buddhist studies for both monastic and lay students. Shamar Rimpoche frequently traveled abroad where he taught at the many Kagyu centers world-wide.

In accordance with his rank as one of the two main lineage holder of the Karma Kagyu school, he recognized and enthroned Trinley Thaye Dorje, as the 17th Karmapa and ensured that he received the education and transmissions of the Kagyü tradition.


In 1996 he founded the Bodhi Path Buddhist Centers, a network of centers covering many continents based on a non-sectarian approach to Buddhism. The curriculum of Bodhi Path centers is grounded in the teachings of the eleventh century Indian Buddhist master Atisha, as they were transmitted by Gampopa.

Légende Sharminub vue aérienne (comme ci-dessus)

Aerial view of Shar Minub Institute with the retreat center in the background

Un visuel de la Fondation Infinite Compassion

In order to provide a shining example of how the renounced followers of the Buddha are really supposed to live, in 2005 Shamar Rinpoche founded the retreat center of Shar Minub in Kathmandu, Nepal. At Shar Minub, twenty resident monks strictly maintain the full 253 vows of the vinaya.

Below this retreat center, he also envisioned Shar Minub Institute: a premier academic institute to train Dharma teachers (from Nepal and abroad) and also a place for advanced academic research. The Institute will house a world-class comparative religions library and serve as a translation center for important Buddhist texts, thus sharing more of the vast treasury of dharma and other sacred texts with people around the world. The institute is under construction at the moment.

In January, 2009 Shamar Rinpoche founded the Infinite Compassion Foundation to promote animal rights. The German branch of the foundation also supports human rights, education projects and medical care. It actually brought a huge support to the Nepalese population following the massive earthquake in 2015.

Première pierre légende idem

Laying the foundation stone of the Institute, August 15th 2002

Shamar Rinpoche played an important role in the developpement of Dhagpo Kagyu Ling and in the long-lasting and authencity of the transmissions in Dhagpo Kundreul Ling. Each and every year, he came to France to give precise teachings to the general public and take care of the teachers continuous formation. In 2003, together with Thaye Dorje, His Holiness the 17th Karmapa, he laid the foundation stone of the Institute of Dhagpo. In 2013, he officially inaugurated the building, with the representatives of the French State together with 2 000 persons.

Shamar Rinpoche authored several books:

bio_shamarpa-en_path-to-awakening• Creating a Transparent Democracy : A New Model. Delhi, New Age Books, 2009.
• A Golden Swan in Turbulent Waters : The Life and Times of the Tenth Karmapa Choying Dorje. Lexington, Bird of Paradise Press, 2012.
• Boundless Awakening : The Heart of Buddhist Meditation. Lexington, Bird of Paradise Press, 2013.
• The Path to Awakening : How Buddhism’s Seven Points of Mind Training can lead you to a life of Enlightenment and Happinessn. Harrison, Delphinium Books, 2014, 2nd edition.
• The King of Prayers: A Commentary on The Noble King of Prayers of Excellent Conduct. Lexington, Bird of Paradise Press, 2011. New USA edition: 2015.

Shamar Rinpoché

Une activité sans limites

Crown-Jewel-of-The-Kagyu-LineageFeuilletez en ligne : 
La vie du XIVe Shamarpa ♦
Joyau de la couronne de la lignée kagyü

Composé par Khenpo Chödrak Tenphel Rinpoché

Sa Sainteté Mipham Chökyi Lodrö (1952-2014) est né à Dergé, au Tibet oriental. À l’âge de quatre ans, il est reconnu par le XVIe Karmapa, Rangjung Rigpé Dorjé, comme la XIVe réincarnation de Shamarpa ou détenteur de la coiffe rouge. Il reçoit tous les enseignements de la tradition Karma Kagyü du XVIe Karmapa.

La lignée des Shamarpas est la seconde plus ancienne lignée de réincarnation dans le bouddhisme tibétain ; elle remonte au XIIIe siècle. Shamar Rinpoché a passé de nombreuses années à étudier en Inde auprès d’érudits bouddhistes. Il a ensuite voyagé et enseigné dans divers centres bouddhiques dans toute l’Asie et en Occident à partir de 1980. En 1982, il intègre l’université de Berkeley pour y étudier l’anglais.

Légende

Shamar Rinpoché et le Président de l’Inde, Sri Ramaswamy Venkataraman, lors de l’inauguration du KIBI, en 1991.

Shamar Rinpoché a dédié ses efforts aux différents projets que le XVIe Karmapa avait initiés.

Il a terminé la réimpression du Tengyur, un corpus de textes en 214 volumes dans lesquels les maîtres indiens et tibétains ont élucidé les enseignements du bouddha historique, Shakyamuni. Il a aussi soutenu et guidé le monastère de Rumtek, le siège du XVIe Karmapa.

Il a cofondé et créé le Karmapa Buddhist International Institute (KIBI), à New Delhi, en Inde. Partenaire de l’Université Mewar, l’institut propose à présent une licence en études bouddhiques aussi bien pour des étudiants monastiques que laïques. Shamar Rinpoché voyageait fréquemment à l’étranger pour enseigner dans les nombreux centres Kagyü du monde entier.

 

Étant l’un des deux détenteurs de la lignée Karma Kagyü, et conformément à son rang, il a reconnu et intronisé Trinley Thayé Dorjé, comme le XVIIe Karmapa et s’est assuré qu’il reçoive l’éducation et les transmissions de la tradition Kagyü.


En 1996, il fonde les centres bouddhiques Bodhi Path, un réseau de centres présents sur plusieurs continents qui prodiguent une approche non sectaire du bouddhisme. Le cursus des centres Bodhi Path se base sur les enseignements du maître bouddhiste indien Atisha, tels que transmis par Gampopa.

Légende Sharminub vue aérienne (comme ci-dessus)

Vue aérienne de l’Institut Shar Minub avec le centre de retraite, au fond

 

Un visuel de la Fondation Infinite Compassion

Afin de fournir un parfait exemple de la façon dont les disciples renonçants du Bouddha sont supposés vivre, Shamar Rinpoché construit, en 2005, le centre de retraite de Shar Minub, à Katmandou, au Népal. À Shar Minub, 20 moines maintiennent rigoureusement l’ensemble des 253 voeux du Vinaya.

Au-dessous du centre de retraite, il prévoit l’Institut Shar Minub : un institut académique pour former des enseignants du Dharma (du Népal et de l’étranger) ainsi qu’un lieu de recherches universitaires avancées. L’institut, actuellement en cours de construction, abritera une bibliothèque avec des ouvrages sur les religions du monde et servira de centre de traduction pour les textes bouddhiques d’importance, afin de partager davantage ce précieux trésor du Dharma et ses textes avec le plus grand nombre de par le monde.

En janvier 2009, Shamar Rinpoché crée la fondation « Infinite Compassion » qui a pour objectif de promouvoir les droits des animaux. La branche allemande de la fondation soutient également les droits de l’Homme, des projets éducatifs et de soins médicaux. Elle s’est notamment mobilisée pour le soutien à la population népalaise suite au tremblement de terre de 2015.

Première pierre légende idem

Pose de la première pierre de l’Institut, le 15 août 2002

Shamar Rinpoché joue un rôle important dans le développement et le rayonnement de Dhagpo Kagyu Ling et dans la pérennité et l’authenticité des transmissions de pratique à Dhagpo Kundreul Ling. Chaque année, il se rend en France pour dispenser des enseignements précis au grand public et assurer la formation continue des enseignants. En 2003, il est aux côtés de Thayé Dorjé, Sa Sainteté le XVIIe Karmapa, pour la pose de la première pierre de l’Institut de Dhagpo. En 2013, il inaugurera la bâtiment, en présence des représentants de l’État français ainsi que de 2 000 personnes.

Shamar Rinpoché a écrit plusieurs livres, dont les suivants sont traduits en français aux éditions Rabsel :

  • Au Coeur de la méditation bouddhique, vers l’éveil sans attaches ni limites, La Remuée, Rabsel Éditions, 2013.
  • La Reine des prières, La Remuée, Rabsel Éditions, 2013.
  • Un Cygne doré dans dans eaux tourmentées, la vie et l’oeuvre du Xe Karmapa, Chöying Dorjé, La Remuée, Rabsel Éditions, 2014.
  • Lo Djong, la voie vers l’éveil, La Remuée, Rabsel Éditions, 2015.